Registered Trainee applicants must be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent. Student must meet the following requirements:
- Successfully complete Basic Appraisal Principles (30hrs)
- Successfully complete Basic Appraisal Procedures (30hrs)
- Successfully complete 15 Hr National USPAP
- Successfully complete Residential Report Writing (15hrs)
- Successfully complete State of Florida Law & Supervisor/Trainee Roles & Relationships (15hrs)
- Submit an application to the DBPR with proof of successful completion of education, electronic fingerprinting and appropriate fee.
- Submit a complete RE-2060-1 form with employment information, if information was not provided on the application.
Certified Residential Appraiser
Certified Residential Appraiser student must meet the following requirements:
College Level Education Requirement
- associate degree or higher from an accredited college, junior college, community college or university; or
- Successful passage of at least 21 credit hours or its equivalent, including all of the following collegiate subject matter courses from an accredited college, junior college, community college or university:
- English Composition;
- Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro);
- Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics;
- Computer Science; and
- Business or Real Estate Law
If accredited college or university accepts the College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) examinations and issues a transcript for the exam, it will be considered as credit for the college course.
- 200 classroom hours, which includes the initial 100hrs to be a Trainee, in approved academic courses including:
- Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15hrs)
- Residential Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15hrs)
- Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches (15hrs)
- Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15hrs)
- Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies (15hrs)
- Mastering Unique & Complex Property Appraisals (20hrs)
- At least 2500 hours experience in a 24 month period. Upon request, copies of appraisal reports to support the claim of experience.
- Successful completion of the AQB approved Certified Residential Property Examination and the Florida Laws and Rules Examination
- Submit an application, fingerprints and appropriate fee.
Post License / Continuing Education Requirements:
Appraisal licenses expire on November 30th of even numbered years. The 45 hours of Post License must be completed prior to the second renewal. The 45 hours include:
- The course must contain the 15 Hour National USPAP, taught by AQB certified instructor.
- In addition to the 45 hours, the students must complete a minimum of 3 hours dedicated to Florida Real Estate Appraisal Law, completed within the same renewal cycle.
- The course must be successfully completed with a minimum score of 75.
- If the student fails the end of course exam, they must wait at least 30 days to repeat the exam but no longer than one year.
- The course must be completed in the classroom
An appraiser whose license is issued within 6 months of the expiration date is not required to complete any education.
30 Hours of Continuing Education:
- The 30 hours shall include the 7 hour National USPAP update taught by an AQB certified instructor, 3 hours of Florida Real Estate Appraisal Law and 20 hours of specialty courses dealing with Real Estate Appraisal.
- Continuing education can be done via online education. If students take course through online education, they must successfully complete an exam for each course with a minimum score of 80.